Friday, Nov-16-2018, 12.32AM

Srirangam byelection: S Valarmathi to be AIADMK candidate Srirangam byelection: S Valarmathi to be AIADMK candidate

Jan-16-2015 | 0 Comments


CHENNAI: Former Tamil Nadu chief minister and AIADMK general secretary J Jayalalithaa on Friday announced that party's Trichy urban district wing joint secretary S Valarmathi would be its candidate for the byelection in Srirangam assembly constituency.

The bypoll has been necessitated by the disqualification of Jayalalithaa, who represented Srirangam assembly segment, after a special court in Bengaluru convicted her in a disproportionate wealth case.

Jayalalithaa has also announced setting up a 50-member election committee to oversee the election process. The members of the committee include party presidium chairman E Madhusoodanan, ministers Natham R Viswanathan, R Vaithialingam and Edapaddi K Palanisamy.

Chief minister O Panneerselvam and Hindu religious and charitable endowments minister ChendurPandian, who is undergoing treatment in Chennai, have not been included in the committee.

Meanwhile, the All India Muslim League has announced the party's support to the AIADMK candidate.

"When the fundamental forces are making efforts to establish themselves in Tamil Nadu, it is time to strengthen the hands of the AIADMK leader who stands by the minorities," Muslim League state president S J Inayathullah said in a statement.

He hailed the ruling AIADMK for rolling out various welfare schemes for the state.

The DMK has already renominated N Anand, who lost to Jayalalithaa in 2011 elections, as its candidate in the Srirangam byelection.

The bypoll will be held on February 13, and votes will be counted on February 16.

Average Rating (0 of 5)
0 1 2 3 4
Views: 451
Rate this:
1 2 3 4 5
Share this:



Which is your favorite city


Best Car


Which color do you like